Google+ Followers

Tuesday, 7 June 2016

LinkedIn Tip # 34- How do you save your LinkedIn Searches?

Have you been trying to figure out how to save your LinkedIn Searches?

You are not alone!

But why do you want to save LinkedIn searches in the first place?

The reason we want to save our LinkedIn searches is to automate our LinkedIn and save ourselves time online. Our goal is to help you get to the point where you are only spending 15-30 minutes online once or twice a day. Once we have saved a search, it continues to send you emails of lists of people that LinkedIn has found that fit your search criteria for your specifically targeted market. These are the people you want to build relationships with.

When I first started using LinkedIn, we were able to go into each and every group and do a specific search in those group members. Then we could send up to 300 individual messages out to the key members that we would like to build relationships with for business. The reason I know this number is because when I sent out more than this, my account would temporarily be frozen for a couple days, then I could start my searches again.

However, because this was being done by many...I mean MANY people! LinkedIn was receiving a lot of complaints from its members.

People got a little upset about this because many people were not doing it for themselves. 

They  were sending messages inviting people to other people's blogs and  just asking them if they knew someone who they could refer them to for someone else.

This is also perceived as spamming people.

Get my drift?

Then, with only 18% of the membership being on a paid platform, LinkedIn had to make some drastic changes in order to stay afloat, I suspect. (I cannot prove this with numbers, but having been a business consultant for over 300 businesses, one only has to crunch some numbers and you can get a general idea of costs involved.) My question is, "How can LinkedIn continue to afford to offer the free platform the way it was before all the changes last year?"

Consequently, the free searches with the individual groups as we once knew them had to disappear ... temporarily.

Now we simply use the "Advanced" search button and can set up searches for each individual group we belong to. Then we can save these searches. But how do we do that?
In the top right hand corner of the window where we set all the parameters for the "Advanced" searches, we can click on the words, "Save Search". Another window opens up where we enter the criteria for our search in the dialogue box.

There are two caveats here!

1. On the free platform, you can only save 3 searches at one time.
2. Remember to click the tiny checkmark to the right of the dialogue box. It will tell you if it is saved or not. If you fail to click the check mark, your search will not save.

Clear as mud?

Feel free to ask if you need further assistance. That's what I do.

To learn more about marketing and branding best practices, join us on the last of our FREE webinars June 14th, 2016 at 4pm MDT/ 3pm PDT.
 Christine Till
The Marketing Mentress

     https://ca.linkedin.com/in/marketingmentress

www.2csuccess.com



No comments:

Post a Comment