Google+ Followers

Monday, 2 January 2017

LinkedIn Tip #79 - "Connections Only" VS "All Contacts"?

Have you ever wondered what choosing "All Contacts" or "Connections Only" means?

You have probably noticed the "My Network" tab located in the top, left side of your LinkedIn Profile page. Did you ever wonder what all those selections were for in there?

When you are searching through your connections under the "Connections" tab, which is under the "My Network" tab, you will find these two choices, "Connections Only" or "All Contacts".  

Feeling confused yet?

I don't blame you. However, if you check out the number of connections that show up when you click on each one, you will notice that the "All Contacts" tab has more people listed in there.

Now why would that be?

The reason you have more people listed in your "All Contacts" tab is because that listing includes all the people who just "follow" you, and are not actually connected to you, as well as your 1st connections.

The reason you want to separate your connections from your followers is because you can only send messages to your connections (meaning your 1st connections)...IF you have paid Inmail. I will write another blog about how to get around having to use paid Inmail.

When you are a 1st connection, you can message without having to worry about using Inmail.

The next time you are searching in your My Network tab, check these out.

Oh! And if you have any other questions, please feel free to ask.

Thank you to my friend, Roger Lee, for asking this question.

Isn't LinkedIn fun!

By the way, my MM 101 is coming up on January 12th. The EarlyBird ends January 6th.

Christine Till
The Marketing Mentress


No comments:

Post a Comment